Loving This Tee

This Just In!: The Magician Tee by Jon Knox

Posted on: March 4, 2011

Jon Knox. Does that name ring a bell? If your answer is synonymous to “no,” then we need to change that right now!

Jon Knox, JeffreyJon Knox is an amazing artist based out of Portland, OR, who is most widely known for his handmade resin toys. But that’s not all that he does, though. Along with being an amazing toy sculptor and painter, he’s also a fantastic illustrator. His unique characters are like a species of their own, so distinct and full of personality. These characters exist in both cartoonish realms and realistic ones, with his portraits looking incredibly lifelike.

Jon Knox, ThreadlessI remember my first encounter with Jon Knox’s artwork. It was a Threadless Select (the old Select line) tee called “Brat Party” that introduced me to Jon’s playful style. I’m going to go ahead and say that it’s my favorite Threadless tee of all time. It’s a shame that I no longer fit into the copy that I own without feeling self-conscious. Should have gone for a Guys Small and not the XS… Bah!

But you’re not here to read my t-shirt woes, are you? I didn’t think so. Let’s take a look at a much newer tee from Jon Knox’s shop. I picked up a shirt called “The Magician” from Jon’s shop when it was up for pre-order. I am kind of obsessed with heather grey tees at the moment, so I picked the grey shirt (there’s also a white option, as well as tank versions).

Jon KnoxAin’t it a beauty?

Since I got it while it was on pre-order, I also received a free mini giclee print. But that’s not all. Jon included stickers and a postcard as well! (You can purchase these items separately in Jon Knox’s shop.)

Jon Knox, art print, stickersJon’s illustration came out perfectly on the shirt. I was a little worried about how the design would translate onto a t-shirt when all there was to look at was a mock-up, but my worries were put to rest when I saw the shirt for the first time. I’m extremely happy with how everything looks, and I personally love the texture that the heather grey gives it.

Jon Knox, magicianHere’s an even closer look at the design. The details are superb on this shirt! The design is printed with water-based inks on an American Apparel shirt, so it’s super soft. Kudos to Jon Knox and to the garment printer!

Jon Knox, magicianAnd as an added touch, the tee has a screen printed care tag.

Jon Knox, tagSo if you’re looking for a shirt with brilliant artwork that you don’t see every day, I highly recommend that you pick up a Jon Knox creation from his online shop. “The Magician” retails for $24, and like I mentioned earlier, it also comes in white and tank top variations. And while you’re at it, you should also give one (or a bunch) of his prints or resin toys a home!

Leave a Reply

Loving This Tee Tweets

Tees in a Pod
Tilteed
