Loving This Tee

This Just In!: T-Rex by SHRED

Posted on: November 15, 2009

Last week, I received my first t-shirt from SHRED Clothing. I had been a fan of the intricate artwork of the past designs, but I didn’t come across a piece that I actually wanted to wear until SHRED released its “T-Rex” shirt. This shirt designed by Alex Norman is influenced by Jurassic Park and shows a ferocious Tyrannosaurus rex chasing a jeep. I have too many black tees as it is, but I don’t think that I would have wanted this design to be printed on any other color. The black backdrop gives the design an extra sense of depth and makes it seem like you’re seeing the chase first-hand. Images simply don’t do this t-shirt justice!

The artwork on this tee is absolutely incredible, and the colors are perfect. Everything from the T. rex down to the splatters in the background is insanely detailed. Halftones are only sparingly used in this piece, and they add a nice effect throughout the design without being too much. The halftones help instead of hurt the design. Another thing that I love about this design is that there is no big logo to be seen anywhere in the print area. Unlike SHRED’s other tees, it’s great to see a well-designed piece without the blatant branding.

As I mentioned earlier, this is a highly detailed piece and you can see all of the time and hard work that was put into creating something this complex. I especially love how the there is a rock flying out of the jeep’s windshield and how the T. rex’s tongue has an intricate texture, making it appear just as powerful as the rest of its body. The splatters originating from the back tires and the tilted position of the jeep are highly effective in conveying the difficulties of escaping, and the facial expressions of the driver are exactly how they should be for someone who’s getting chased by a huge carnivorous dinosaur!

This tee comes with a tagless label, so you don’t have to worry about the irritation that comes with shirt tags. I didn’t notice it at first, but it says “200% badass” right underneath the “100% cotton.” I think that this is extremely unique, and I wholeheartedly agree with the short statement! “T-Rex” is printed on a black American Apparel shirt, and you can expect a slim-fitting tee when you order from SHRED.

All of these pictures were taken after wash, and you can see that the image is still crisp and clear. The colors did not fade, based on what I noticed before and after washing, and I can assure you that the print job is top-notch. The colors look well-aligned and I do not notice anything “off” with the print. Although the print area is quite large, the print is exceptionally soft. You can kind of feel the ink if you rub your hand over the design, but you definitely won’t feel like you’re wearing a rectangular sheet of ink on your torso.

I highly recommend SHRED tees, especially “T-Rex.” The shirt is incredibly comfortable, and the design will surely get you noticed! You can pick up “T-Rex” at the SHRED store for $19.99, and use the code “LTT” to take 10% off!

Leave a Reply

Loving This Tee Tweets

Tilteed
